Indiana Preps will present its annual Player of the Year awards and All State Top 22 teams later this month. Selections are based on the 2022 high school football season and is not a recruiting or rankings based recognition. Player of the year awards are given to seniors and awarded to the player of the year, along with offensive, defensive and special teams player of the year. The selection committee is made up of a number of media members and Indiana Preps. In addition, a player is named to a position award. The All State Top 22 recognizes Big School (4A-6A), Small School (A-3A and Underclassmen.

Player of the Year Finalists

Hunter Gennicks (QB, Linton-Stockton)

Hunter led Linton-Stockton to a 13-1 record. A dual-threat on offense, he rushed for 2,082 yards and 34 touchdowns. He threw for 1,565 yards 22 touchdowns through the air. On defense he tallied 114 total tackles, 4 interceptions and returned two of those for touchdowns.

Luke Hansen (RB, Roncalli)

Luke rushed his way into the Royals’ record books in his senior campaign. Roncalli fell short in the semi-final game, but the season was quite an accomplishment for Hansen. The senior running back rushed for 3,080 yards, and 37 touchdowns, while adding 6 sacks on the defense.

Mason Wunderlich (QB, Evansville Mater Dei)

Mason led the Wildcats to back-to-back state final appearances, winning the class 2A championship this season with his stellar play. Wunderlich capped his season with 2,787 passing yards and connected for 27 touchdowns.

Robert Lamar Jr. (RB, Clarksville)

Arguably one of the most impressive stat lines among the candidates, Lamar rushed for 3,035 yards in just 11 games. That is a blistering average of 275 yards a game. He tallied 37 touchdowns on the ground. The Clarksville all time leading rusher etched his name in the books rushing for 6,787 yards and 75 touchdowns in his career.

Drayk Bowen (LB/RB, Andrean)

Drayk Bowen the reigning Gatorade Player of the Year, followed up last season’s act with an impressive senior season on both sides of the ball. After capturing a state title his junior year, Bowen helped lead the 59rs back to Lucas Oil this year but fell short in claiming consecutive championships. He led the ground game as the feature back with 1,784 yards and 26 rushing touchdowns. The Notre Dame recruit racked up 144 tackles, 19 tackles for loss, 5 sacks and 2 interceptions.

Micah Mackay (WR, Lutheran)

Mackay is a big reason the Indianapolis Lutheran Saints have won 30 games in a row and consecutive state champion rings. The senior wide receiver hauled in 64 passes, going for 1,403 yards and he hit paydirt 16 times this season.

Max Mullis (QB, West Lafayette)

Max was the engine to the Red Devil offense that compiled an impressive 13-1 record. The senior signal caller threw for 31 touchdowns, passing for 2,580 yards. Mullis was just as deadly running the football, gaining 1,156 yards and 21 touchdowns on the ground for the class 3A regional champions.

Micah Coyle (RB, Center Grove)

The unselfish play by Micah Coyle, stepping in to play running back was exactly what the Trojans needed to capture their third straight 6A state championship. Coyle, like many Center Grove running backs before him was a tough out for opposing defenses. The bruiser rushed for 2,072 yards and 22 touchdowns to pace the champions.

Daniel Tippit IV (QB, New Palestine)

This gunslinger’s touchdown to turnover ratio was the best in the state, 33 to 1. The Dragons held the number one spot in class 4A for most of the regular season, notching 12 wins on the season. Thanks to Tippit’s 2,546 passing yards, the New Palestine claimed a sectional championship this season.

Nicholas Patterson (QB, Mooresville)

Patterson accounted for 3,368 total yards of offense in leading the Mooresville Pioneers this season. As confident of a player as you can be with the football in his hands, he passed for 2,147 yards and 23 touchdowns in the air. When Patterson wasn’t busy torching defenses in the pass game, he rumbled for 1,221 yards and 15 touchdowns on the ground.