Kyle Hill (@Coach_Kyle_Hill)

Scout & Writer

Evansville, Indiana: The 2020 IHSAA State Football Tournament is upon us, as this weekend brings us the first week of Sectional play (Sectional Quarterfinals).  Sectional 24 (Class 4A) features a loaded field, including three ranked teams (Evansville Central, Jasper, and Northview), a Boonville team led by Tailback Devin Mockobee (Navy commit), and the defending Class 4A Champions (Evansville Memorial), in addition to a tradition-rich Evansville Reitz program.  Evansville Harrison will look to build upon the momentum from a regular-season-ending win over Evansville Bosse.

Week 1 of 2020 Sectional play will bring Indiana Preps to Enlow Field, as the Northview Knights (7-2, # 14 – Coaches) travel to play the Evansville Memorial Tigers (6-3).  

Northview’s balanced offensive attack features Sr. Tailback Korbin Allen (1,096 rushing yards, 10 rushing TD’s).  The Knights also have a core of four different receivers (Jr. Vincent Bonomo, Jr. Braxton Sampson, Sr. Ilias Gordon, and Jr. Easton Morgan) (along with Allen) that each have over 100 yards receiving on the season.  Gordon and Sampson are tied for the team lead with five touchdown receptions.  Sr. Keegan Garrison serves as the Quarterback for Northview.

Defensively, Sampson leads the way for the Knights with an eye-popping 107 tackles on the season.

The Tigers, after an 0-3 start, have steadily improved throughout the season, and enter the Sectional on a six-game winning streak, having played a rugged SIAC schedule that has prepared them for postseason play.

The status of Sr. QB Colton Pence remains up in the air for Friday’s game.  Sophomore QB Caleb Ellspermann stepped up in Pence’s absence, and was instrumental in the Tigers’ victory over Castle last week.  Some players to watch for Memorial include Jr. Josh Russell (401 yards rushing, 67 tackles, 9 total TD’s), Jr. Dominic Norman (571 receiving yards), and Jr. Aiden Farmer (5 sacks).

Whichever team emerges from Sectional 24 will have definitely earned it.  The winner of this one will play the winner of the Evansville Reitz/Evansville Harrison game next week.